Statement on Green Oak School

Green Oak Church of England Primary is facing closure after the Conservative Government refused a request for co-funding from the Good Shepherd Trust and the Conservative Surrey council leadership failed to turn up to the ”consultation” meeting on the closure.

”It’s clear they are only going through the motions,” South West Surrey Labour chair Tim Corry said. ”It is bizarre is that they’re closing a school in an area where hundreds of new houses are being built. Everyone know we’ll need a school for them, the common sense step is to invest in and develop what is already there, minimising disruption to existing and future pupils education.”


Welcome Nick Palmer, our new Secretary

Nick is Head of Policy for Godalming-based Compassion in World Farming, living in Haslemere. He has been a Labour member since he gave himself membership as a present on his 21st birthday, and after a career in industrial management was for 13 years was Member of Parliament for Broxtowe – the only Labour MP the constituency has ever had. He speaks six languages and has three published books on leisure gaming. He says, ‘I look forward to bringing the same commitment to the South West Surrey Constituency Labour Party as I did to winning in Tory-dominated Broxtowe.” More information on Nick can be found at


Constituency meeting dates

We meet on the 4th Thursday of every month at 8:00pm at the Deninngberg Centre, 36 Bridge St, Godalming, Surrey GU7 1HP

April 26th

May 24th

June 28th

July 26th

All members are welcome to attend, there might even be biscuits!


To find out more about our activities like our facebook page at and follow us on twitter @swslabour