COVID-19 update

Following guidance from the National Party, we will be suspending all South West Surrey Constituency and Branch Meetings for the foreseeable future. The April 26th meeting is definitely cancelled and we will re-assess the situation in May, in line with Government and Party guidance. This includes Farnham Branch meetings.

We are arranging a number of virtual events, so please follow us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/swsurreylabour/ and please check your e-mail as we will be contacting you more frequently. If you are not receiving e-mail from us please initially check your spam folder and also your privacy settings on Membersnet at https://members.labour.org.uk/. You can contact us at info@swsurreylabour.org.uk, which is also the address that e-mail is sent from.

We want to be a source of useful information for you, and have put together the information below. We will maintain this list and keep it up to date, posting it here and on our Facebook page and we will also provide information via our twitter feed at www.twitter.com/SWSLabour. If you are aware of any useful resources then please provide them to us at info@swsurreylabour.org.uk and we will add to the list.

During this time we will be increasing the frequency of our communication with our members, but do feel free to reach out to us. This is a time for us to support and help each other, to live our values. You may be self isolating, but you are not alone, we will get through this period together.

Stay safe

SW Surrey CLP executive

 

Places where you can either volunteer to help or ask for help

Town and Waverley Borough Council contact details

Web Page: https://www.waverley.gov.uk/site/, Tel: 0300 200 1008

This is the main Waverley information page and includes information on Council Tax support and Council Rent.

Godalming Town Council, home page has a lot of good information: https://godalming-tc.gov.uk/, and https://godalming-tc.gov.uk/stay-in-place-support-directory/

Farnham Town Council – https://www.farnham.gov.uk/

Haslemere Town Council – https://www.haslemeretc.org/

 

Contacts for COVID19 Assistance

Voluntary Action SW Surrey: https://voluntaryactionsws.org.uk/ Telephone number for COVID19 Assistance: 01483 565 456.

Haslemere Help Telephone Number for COVID19 Assistance: 07873 383 954

 

Labour Councillors

Nick Palmer, Waverley Borough Council – nickmp1@aol.com

George Wilson, Waverley Borough Council – georgecharleswilson@gmail.com

Gerry Boyle, Godalming Town Council – gboyle@gboyle.net

Richard Ashworth, Godalming Town Council – Richard.ashworth52@gmail.com

 

Covid19 support groups on Facebook:

Farnham Covid Mutual Aid: https://www.facebook.com/groups/FarnhamCOVID19MutualAidUK/

Haslemere Help: https://www.facebook.com/groups/880510975746375/?epa=SEARCH_BOX

Godalming & Farncombe Community Coronavirus Assistance: https://www.facebook.com/groups/489580718585997/

 

Food Banks

Local Food Banks are helping people in desperate need with a three day supply of food to tide them over while they seek other support.  Some food banks are actively seeking donations of food and/or financial support, either one-off or regular.

Farnham Food Bank – https://farnham.foodbank.org.uk/

Godalming Food Bank – http://www.parishofgodalming.org.uk/our-church-of-st-marks/food-bank/

Haslemere Food Bank – http://www.haslemere.com/community/listing.php?businessid=405

Want to donate?: The Trussell Trust arrange foodbanks across the country, you can donate here: https://www.trusselltrust.org/make-a-donation/

 

Community Meals Service:  For people who need help to make sure they regularly have nutritious, cooked meals.  (Cost is £6.50 per meal)

Cranleigh – 01483 277155

Farnham – 01252 727280

Godalming – 07771 805414

Haslemere – 01428 648716

 

Directory of local businesses providing takeaway/Deliveries:

Godalming: https://www.lockdown-life.com/areas

Haslemere: https://www.haslemeretc.org/uploads/1/1/5/9/115942197/capture_local_business_data__responses__-_form_responses_1.pdf

Driving Miss Daisy Service (Driving & Companion Service as well as Pick Up and Delivery Service): 07525 873 050

 

Employment and Financial support Useful links – especially for self-employed:

Self Employment & Universal Credit – https://www.gov.uk/self-employment-and-universal-credit

Employment & Support Allowance – https://www.gov.uk/employment-support-allowance

Covid-19 Small Business Government Grant – https://smallbusiness.co.uk/how-do-i-get-the-government-3000-coronavirus-grant-2549866/

Coronavirus Business Interruption Loan – https://smallbusiness.co.uk/how-do-i-apply-for-a-coronavirus-business-interruption-loan-2549863/

Citizen’s Advice – https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/benefits/help-if-on-a-low-income/if-youre-struggling-with-living-costs/

Emergency Funding – https://www.stepchange.org/debt-info/emergency-funding.aspx

Stay up to date on Social Media – we are at:

https://www.facebook.com/swsurreylabour/

Twitter: @SWSLabour

Local Elections May 2019

A big thank you to all who voted for us, campaigned for us and supported us.

And Congratulations to our new Labour Councillors:

On Waverley Borough Council:

Nick Palmer – Godalming Binscombe Ward. Member of the Council Executive.  nick.palmer@waverley.gov.uk

George Wilson – Godalming Farncombe and Cattershall Ward.  george.wilson@waverley.gov.uk

Waverley Borough Council is now controlled by a joint administration of Farnham Residents, LibDems, Labour and Greens.

Shared leadership and cooperation to benefit the people of Waverley.

On Godalming Town Council:

Richard Ashworth – Godalming Central & Ockford Ward   richard.ashworth@godalming-tc.gov.uk

Gerry Boyle – Binscombe Ward  gerry.boyle@godalming-tc.gov.uk

On Parish Councils:

Jessica Webster and Debby Flack.

Councillor Nick Councillor Nick Palmer Councillor Richard

Councillor Richard Ashworth (left)

 

We will be staying in touch through this website, Facebook and Twitter and will be accessible and visible.

Contact the local Labour team at info@swsurreylabour.org.uk

Local Meetings

The Constituency Labour Party (CLP) 

All South West Surrey Labour members are welcome at our meetings.

Regular date: Fourth Thursday of every month (except August and December)

8:00pm at the Deninngberg Centre, 36 Bridge St, Godalming, Surrey GU7 1HP.

Farnham Branch

All Farnham Labour members are welcome at our meetings.

Regular date: Second Wednesday of the month (except August and December)

8.00pm in the back room at the Hop Blossom P.H. in Long Garden Walk Farnham GU9 7HX

THIS IS A RECENT CHANGE OF VENUE

Nearest car park Lower Hart (by Waitrose) – free in the evenings

Find out more

To find out more about our activities like our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/swsurreylabour/ and follow us on Twitter @swslabour

You can contact us at info@swsurreylabour.org.uk